School Board Honors Eagle Scout, Bus Drivers

The South Colonie Board of Education honored a Colonie Central High School student for attaining the rank of Eagle Scout and several of its bus drivers with President’s Spotlight Awards on June 19.

Eagle Scout Recognition – Andrew Nelson

2 men present an award to a Boy Scout
Andrew Nelson is presented a President’s Spotlight Award by Board of Education President Ed Sim (left) and Superintendent Jonathan Buhner for attaining the rank of Eagle Scout.

Nelson is a senior at Colonie Central High School. He has been a member of Boy Scout Troop 3010 since the first grade and attained the rank of Eagle Scout on May 3, 2018.

Nelson has been a trained Den Chief for six years where he has worked with various Cub Scout levels in assisting them to advance to be Boy Scouts. He has served as Senior Patrol Leader, Assistant Patrol Leader, Patrol Leader, and Scribe for his troop. He was also elected to be a member of the Order of the Arrow. As a scout he has volunteered over 200 hours with community organizations.

Nelson’s service project was something that he is passionate about and wanted to do to give back to the community. Along with his fellow scouts, he created four wooden benches to be placed at Ann Lee Pond and dedicated them to all servicemen and fishermen. He also felt this would be a good tie-in to the future Veteran’s Home to be built at Ann Lee Nursing Home.

Nelson is planning to continue in Boy Scouts as an Adult Leader. He is well deserving of the rank of Eagle Scout and has shown the Boys Scout ideals of doing a good turn in his everyday life.

AAA Bus Driver of the Year – Joseph Wygel

group of bus drivers stand with the school board members
South Colonie bus drivers are honored by the Board of Education for safety and efficiency.

Joe Wygel, who has been named 2018 American Automobile Association Hudson Valley School Bus Driver of the Year, began driving with the district in 2008.

“He has been a very reliable and trustworthy employee for us over the years,” said Transportation Director Peter Tunny, who nominated Wygel for the award. “He has a very positive attitude and, as a result, has the ability to promote positive student behavior. He has an excellent safety record as well.”

Bus Driver Safety and Efficiency

Peter Tunny, South Colonie Director of Transportation, recognized district bus drivers for their service in the areas of safety and efficiency.

Top Safety Drivers 

Mark Delaney, Nick Ragone, Liz Huffland, Ruth Sawicki, Tim Toussant, Jack Pulver, Joe George, Kathy Ogborn, Ron McLaughlin and Tom Morris.

Top Efficiency Drivers

Mark Delaney, Christine Finnerty, Ruth Sawicki, Jim Snyder, Nick Ragone, Sue Tizzone, Tim Toussant, Elana Spiewak, Joe George and Tom Morris.