Roessleville Students Honored For P.E. Leadership and Excellence

PE award winners in a group with their coach

Eight Roessleville Elementary School students were honored this spring for outstanding leadership and excellence in Physical Education.

Honored in May with a 2018 Sandra G. Morley Physical Education Student Leadership Award were Samuel Cruz, Aidan Kelley, John Verbo, Ashley Barrett, Julia Keefe, Grace Roark, Magdalena Villa, and Kelly Waite. They were nominated for the award by Coach Michael Palmer and Layne Woodard.

Since 1985, the Capital Zone of the New York State Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance has been recognizing students for their character, sportsmanship, citizenship and leadership both inside and outside of the classroom.

Hudson Valley Community College played host to the organization’s 32nd annual Sandra G. Morley Physical Education Student Leadership Awards  ceremony on May 7. The event took place in HVCC’s McDonough Sports Complex. More than 600 elementary, middle, and junior high school students, from districts as far north as Warrensburg and as far south as Middleburgh, were honored.

Students selected for the award, which aligns with the New York State Learning Standards for Physical Education:

  • Demonstrate responsible personal and social behavior, sportsmanship and citizenship
  • Show a desire to learn and improve
  •  Exhibit a physically active lifestyle
  • Demonstrate leadership and a positive influence on peers
  • Contribute toward the total school program